The Olympics and Common Grace

The Chief End

Last night I sat on the couch and watched the bulk of the lengthy opening ceremony for the 2012 Summer Olympics in London with my wife. As I watched the spectacle unfold I was struck by something. In between the “oohs” and “aahs” and the occasional “huhs?” I found my mind returning again and again to the fact that it was a truly magnificent display of God’s common grace.

Common grace is essentially a belief that people of all stripes experience something of God’s blessings. One example of this in Scripture is seen in Jesus’ “Sermon on the Mount” in Matthew 5. Verses 44 and 45 say this: “But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father who is in heaven. For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends…

View original post 344 more words

Leave a Reply

