Older Than the Trees, Younger Than the Mountains

Andrés & Candice

Andrés and I (and Ruby!) took a trip to my parent’s vacation home (the front windows of which can be seen in the first picture) in the mountains this past weekend to attend a Bluegrass Festival and to meet with the pastor who will marry us.

I love being up there. The air is crisp, it’s consistently about 10 degrees cooler, and life just slows down a little. I drank coffee from a French press and I don’t even like coffee. I’d never want to live there because I can’t imagine that kind of seclusion every day, but I sure do love to vacation in cabins in the mountains.

We read over the ceremony (which is about 12 minutes without adding in any songs) and our vows, and talked about the paperwork side of getting married. There was this holy-shit-this-is-real moment for me. Not in a freak-out-cold-feet kind of way… in…

View original post 125 more words

Leave a Reply

